YOUR MICHIGAN RV
Michigan's many lakes and campgrounds offer travelers the opportunity to hitch a travel trailer, boat or RV to their vehicle and head out for an adventure.
You got your vehicle!
Drivers traveling with a trailer in Michigan must ensure that they are in compliance with all state laws before leaving on a trip with a trailer.
Get Your RV / Trailer Tags
All trailers must be registered when used on-road. Additionally, if the trailer weighs over 2,500 lbs. (empty weight), it must be titled as well. All trailer coaches (e.g., pop-up camper, travel trailer, fifth wheel camper, etc.) are titled and registered regardless of weight.
- How Long to Title/Register - Within 15 days of date of purchase
- 0 - 2,499 lbs. $75
- 2,500 - 9,999 lbs. $200
- 10,000 lbs. and over $300
- Duration of Registration - Trailer plates are permanent ( non-expiring ) and remain valid until ownership transfers.
Get Yor License Endorsement if needed
All drivers towing a trailer in Michigan are required to hold a valid driver's license, notes the Michigan Department of State's website. In addition, drivers using a pickup truck to tow a fifth wheel recreational vehicle with a second trailer attached to the back of the RV must have a class "R," or recreational double endorsement, on their Michigan license before towing both vehicles. Drivers must be at least 18 years of age, hold a valid Michigan driver's license and pass a written test to obtain a class "R" endorsement.
In Michigan, the law requires that you equip your trailer as follows
- You must have safety chains connected from the trailer to the tow vehicle. The chains should neither drag nor be so tight as to prohibit sharp turns.
- a light illuminates the trailer license plate
- Also required:
- All trailers over 30 feet long must have intermediate side lights to make other drivers aware of the extended length.
- the NHTSA requires all trailers be equipped with rear and side reflectors to further indicate vehicle size and presence.
- Over 2500 Pounds
- Trailers weighing a minimum of 2,500 pounds must have turn signals and two red or amber rear stop lights that are visible from at least 100 feet during the day and night.
- Over 3000 Pounds
- On the front, 2 clearance lamps, 1 at each side
- On the rear, 2 red clearance lamps, 1 at each side
- On each side, 2 side marker lamps, 1 amber at or near the front and 1 red at or near the rear; between 15 and 60 inches high.
- All trailers over 3,000 pounds must be equipp ed with brakes, while trailers weighing over 5,500 pounds must have brakes strong enough to control the trailer's movement, stop it and hold it.
- your trailer tires have a minimum tread of 2/32-inch
- All commercial trailers must have mud flaps on the rear wheels
Disclaimer: The Michigan Trailer Laws and Regulations here are not an inclusive list of laws, regulations and it should be used by reference only and not used for any other purpose. BzeroB.com is not liable for incorrect or incomplete information.